Company

She would fashion monsters from those things she found in the vast space around her; combinations of little bits of waste, sharp fragments woven together in a manner not unlike the fusing of skin. These things were hoarded and forgotten, and once uncovered found to be rotten beyond recognition. She wept at the fractured beauty  found in such decay within the horrible constructs she had created, emphatically aware of the futility realised in the casual acknowledging of this crisis.

It has been a long time since she had left this place, a house of damp and loneliness, and monsters made of mainly cardboard and milk cartons. They were things easily deconstructed, though when her eyes met those of the host she would allow herself to succumb effortlessly. Their company was preferable after all to the vast emptiness which permeated every part of her, punctuated only by the finding of further shards, carving deep into the soles of her feet with every tread. Though their company was consoling, it was also inherently disturbing; the monster with the sideways smile caused her to stand perfectly still, unable to meet it’s gaze, for fear of it’s attempts to become better acquainted. And another, swathed in darkness, did not seem to have a face at all, but rather it moved mutely and earnestly between dark corners before settling on her shoulders, causing a wave of nausea and sleep to flood into her lungs. But perhaps more terrifying was the kindly construct; a scarecrow of sorts with a gracious expression. It swathed her heart in yellow days, though it’s hands of glass and plastic were cold to their very core.

She loathed her monsters, yet reinforced them with paper plates and old erasers. If she no longer had these monsters, what more would she have left? Without these friends, she may very well have become insane.

Holding the hand of her scarecrow she was reminded that if such horror existed within her imagination, it could also exist beyond. These were terrible but exquisite constructs, formed from the waste of the human condition. She started to weave her skin into her monsters, an amalgamation of misery. It was much easier than she had first anticipated, to yield to the whims of her friends, and as she looked into her mirror she realised that she was no longer just herself, she too had become a construct; the most monstrous and beautiful of all.

About Anna

Author of the Insanity Aquarium. Current fears include time as a concept, the squishiness of my right eyeball, and not being able to open this jar.
This entry was posted in Darkness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Company

  1. Pete Howorth says:

    Yay you’re back and with an amazing bit of writing! I was blind but now I can see! :)

    Like

    • Anna says:

      Yay! I have missed thee, Pete. What sort of misadventures have you been up to? I can only imagine it has something to do with homeless people and jam sandwiches.

      Like

    • Pete Howorth says:

      There was this one homeless dude, Jedidiah his name wa. Covered in jam he were! He comes ovva n guz, “Ayup maiiite, you gotta a spare tab loike?”

      N I’m like, “Yeah course I do Jezza, because I’m a 19 a day man, fed up a these spare fags I keep gerrin’ every day init!”

      I beckoned him, and as he reached forth to take said cigarette, I slapped two slices a bread either side on him and gobbled ‘im oorrrl.

      Didn’t taste very nice though, bit slippery, think he wa from Greece or sommert.

      Like

    • Anna says:

      I literally love you.

      Like

  2. Anne Schilde says:

    We certainly wouldn’t want her to go insane! I always find myself wondering what you’re looking at when you write these. My roommate had company over the other day and these monsters are not unlike those that roamed my apartment the next day. I loved the amalgamation of misery at the end. “My skin is not my own.”

    Like

    • Anna says:

      I had the idea jotted down in my notebook from months ago, so I’m afraid I can’t quite remember what first inspired me. I seem to remember I was sat at work, letting my mind wander, jotting down words and sentences, and finding monsters and skin to be very appealing. As you do. When I came to write it recently though, it took the form of the monsters in my head- so it’s nice to know that they are at least good for something :D Thanks for the comment Annie!

      Like

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Monsters are always good for something. And sometimes skin too.

      Like

  3. darkjade68 says:

    Awesome piece Anna

    DJ-

    Like

Leave a Reply

