Gloom

I stand on the edge of the building, the wind combing between my fingers in a typically exhilarating fashion. I feel the disintegrating grit of the concrete nestle between my toes and inhale the terrifying vastness of the horizon, dispassionately. The sky’s velvet orange cradles the inconsiderate beige of the city, the skyline peppered with countless concrete constructions, towering above my insignificant frame, the insignificant building beneath me.

The noise at the back of my head pulls my skull backwards and I survey the clouds for a moment. I muse upon the instance between life and death, the frame in which decay begins. There is pain within the elongation of decay, and then within the vivacious severing of the limb; the sickening disorder of a life too short squeezing an infinity of misery.

There were plans for the end of winter, lights and decorations. The red and yellows cast shadows on the walls and served only to highlight the cosmic emptiness between presence and disinterest, that epoch between life and death, atypically exhilarating.

I close my eyes and feel the cool air comb between my toes.

About Anna

Author of the Insanity Aquarium. Current fears include time as a concept, the squishiness of my right eyeball, and not being able to open this jar.
This entry was posted in Darkness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gloom

  1. Anne Schilde says:

    Cool air on concrete grit. We’ve been too long without a good rain. Do you think we live it when we dream, Anna? The instance between life and death? I’m sure of it sometimes, and then I have no recollection of a moment ago and it only seems like there was grit but now it’s just cold toes in need of cream. I wasn’t even me when I woke up yesterday until I was on my way to the shower… strangest thing.

    Like

    • Anne Schilde says:

      p.s. I am frikkin ♥ in love ♥ with the tag, “gloom and how it gets that way”!!!

      Like

    • Anna says:

      Thank you Annie! I am not myself sometimes either. Sometimes I am stood across the room, watching someone who looks very much like myself do things, and other times I see that I’ve done something and can’t quite rememeber how it came to be.

      From my tags you may have noticed I was in a musical mood when I was writing this story- ‘Gloom and How it Gets That Way’ is actually a reference to an Every Time I Die song- I can never use the word ‘gloom’ without being reminded of it, so it felt right to include it in the tags! :)

      Like

  2. joetwo says:

    Interestingly descriptive language

    Like

  3. darkjade68 says:

    Brilliant Anna

    “The sky’s velvet orange cradles the inconsiderate beige of the city, the skyline peppered with countless concrete constructions, towering above my insignificant frame, the insignificant building beneath me.”

    Love it

    But Love the whole thing

    Well Done

    DJ-

    Like

Leave a Reply

