Bathwater

After years, and the harshest parts of the shower.
There was your old bathwater, and I became braver…
then slowly boiled to death.
I laughed.
To float in the water… shoulders dipped… swathes of warm around your neck…
slight pressure pushing you down.
Closed eyes… push yourself under… knees become cold,
in a world otherwise warm.
Breathe in… soapy water… burns my throat… slowly drift, drift… drift…
exposed and concealed, there are ducks on the curtain.
I think about your indifference as I submerge my head.
Heart becomes frenzied, a spark of enthusiasm in a life otherwise dead… flutter. Misunderstanding or despair pressed between sheets of odium or water,
I haven’t decided yet… flutter.
I gave you the world and you mustered a smile… flutter.
The water keeps my skin from falling away for a short time, at least… flutter.
At least, I hadn’t noticed the pattern on the bathroom ceiling before.

About Anna

Author of the Insanity Aquarium. Current fears include time as a concept, the squishiness of my right eyeball, and not being able to open this jar.
This entry was posted in Darkness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bathwater

  1. Reading this inspired me to take one right away! I love the sensory-deprivation effect of a hot bath. Such a great escape.

    Like

    • Anna says:

      Thanks Mikey! There’s nothing quite like a hot bath, a bubblegum candle, and a good book. Except I always overheat and have to lie on the floor for about 20 minutes afterwards. Swings and roundabouts.

      Like

  2. joetwo says:

    Sometimes a bath gives you too much time to think! Good one!

    Like

  3. Anne Schilde says:

    Duckies! I love the sheets of odium! Odium. The 0th element. 0 protons, 0 neutrons, and 1 electron flying about in abandoned rage.

    This was really fun to read, Anna! I don’t want to drag you away from the prose you write because this has been one of my favorite places to read it. But this was really fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

